Nominations Open for Schwartz Center Compassionate Caregiver Award

The Schwartz Center for Compassionate Healthcare, a nonprofit organization dedicated to strengthening the relationship between patients and caregivers, is seeking nominations for its 2012 Schwartz Center Compassionate Caregiver Award. The award recognizes caregivers and teams of caregivers who demonstrate extraordinary compassion for patients and families.

Nominees must be paid caregivers who work in a New England healthcare organization and have direct patient contact. Nominations may be made by patients or family members or by healthcare professionals who work with the nominee. The winner receives a $5,000 cash prize, and four finalists receive $1,000 each.

The center and award are named after HCFA friend Ken Schwartz, a Boston healthcare attorney who died of lung cancer at the age of 40 and found that what mattered to him most was the compassionate care he received from his caregivers, which he said “made the unbearable bearable.” He founded the Schwartz Center in 1995 to ensure that all patients receive compassionate care. Today, the center has programs in hundreds of healthcare institutions across the country.

The Schwartz Center encourages the nomination of candidates from a variety of healthcare settings, including hospitals, physician practices, long-term care facilities, community health centers, outpatient clinics, and hospice and home care organizations. Eligible employees may include physicians, nurses, therapists, social workers, psychologists, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, certified nursing assistants, home health aides, and chaplains – as well as interdisciplinary teams of caregivers.

More information on how to nominate a caregiver is available on the Schwartz Center’s website. The nomination deadline is Friday, May 4th.

About HCFA

The Ultimate Massachusetts Health Care Insider Information
This entry was posted in Health Care Quality. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nominations Open for Schwartz Center Compassionate Caregiver Award

  1. Pingback: Caregiving: The Spiritual Journey of Love, Loss, and Renewal « Oprah's 2012 Book Club Awards

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s